Equity, Cultural and Social Justice Commission

Mission Statement:
To empower a community of diversity, equity, fairness, inclusion, and respect for all. The commission will advise the City Council in creating avenues for actionable changes in policies and services.

MEETINGS: Fourth Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m.
TERMS: 2-year staggered terms (the first four members will serve an initial term of 3 years)
STAFF CONTACT: Dafne Hernandez-Banderas, dhernandez@covingtonwa.gov, 253.480.2442
LINKS: Agendas and Minutes

POS. 1 (exp. 09/30/2022) - Vacant
POS. 2 (exp. 09/30/2022) - Mani Dhami
POS. 3 (exp. 09/30/2022) - Kevin Quach Doan
POS. 4 (exp. 09/30/2022) - Vacant
POS. 5 (exp. 09/30/2023) - Vacant
POS. 6 (exp. 09/30/2023) - Rommel Marquez
POS. 7 (exp. 09/30/2023) - Leslie Hamada
POS. 8 (exp. 09/30/2023) - Bronwyn Thomas
POS. 9 (exp. 09/30/2023) - Alex Cerbana
POS. 10 (exp. 09/30/2023) - Ashleigh Griffin
POS. 11 (exp. 09/30/2023) - Chuck Ijadi
POS. 12 (exp. 09/30/2023) - Fernando Campos
POS. 13 (exp. 09/30/2023) - David Scalabrini

On September 22, 2020, Covington City Council passed a resolution adopting an Equity, Cultural and Social Justice Commission with a minimum of seven members and a maximum of 15 members.

The Commission shall act in an advisory capacity to the City Council. The commission shall study, investigate, counsel and develop and/or update written plans regarding how to address equity, cultural and social justice issues with the City as requested by the City Council. The Commission shall be responsible for submitting periodic reports to the City Council setting forth its progress in completing its work program.

The Commission will also review and provide recommendations regarding the City's vision, mission, goals, comprehensive plan updates and other areas by addressing equity, cultural and social justice issues.